Friday, 19 April 2024 - 12.00 am

Club Trophy Day 2017

Club Trophy Day 2017Club Trophy Day 2015

On Sunday 11th June 2017 the Club held its annual Trophy Day event at Fairlands Hall, to recognise the achievements of all our players this season.  The turnout was typically good this year, and thanks to all of you who helped run the stalls and serve the hot dogs.  We’ve since received many favourable comments about the day – the only ‘could do better’ was that the PA system needed a little oiling!

A big thank-you to all those who turned up in the morning to help set up the seating and the brilliant display of trophies (and thanks also to the small army involved in the rapid clear-up at the end of an exhausting afternoon!).


Reception Mini Rangers

Coach Tony Mainee and Assistant Coach Chris Teller kicked off the players’ awards by presenting each of our Reception Mini-Rangers with their Club trophy!

Sadly, 2017 will be the last season that Tony Mainee will be the coach for the Mini Rangers. I am sure you will all join me in wishing Tony all the best for the future, and a massive thank you for all his time over the years.


Under 6 Mini Rangers

Next up, it was the turn of our older Mini-Rangers, with the awards being presented by the team rep, Oliver Arnell.


Under 7 Wolves & Werewolves

The U7s this season had enough players to make up two teams. The awards were presented by coaching staff Angel Aburto, Olly Cummings and Martin Twist.


Under 8 Pirates

Next in line were the U8 Pirates: Manager Dave Blake and Coach Scott Doherty presented the trophies.
Managers Player Jonathan C
Players Player Charlie B
Parents Player Charlie B
Most Improved Freddie B
Best Attacking Player Finley W
Best Defending Player James Y


Under 8 Buccaneers

Next were the U8 Buccaneers: Manager Fraser Horne and Coach Steve Franklin presented the awards. Fraser and Steve felt that as this group was a late breakout team from Under 8s, they said all the players deserved the same recognition for their dedication and performance. Both Fraser and Steve manage another team, and so have had to put in a lot of extra commitment to be able to run a second team.
Players Player Tom F


Under 10 Scorpions

U10 Scorpions: Manager Andi Scanlan and Coach Steve Franklin presided over the award of trophies….
Managers Player Amelia C
Players Player Ajay Mainee
Parents Player Ajay Mainee
Most Improved Alex Smith
Best Attacking Player Ibrahim A
Best Defending Player William C


Under 11 Falcons

Next up were Nick Reynolds and Fraser Horne to present the U11 Falcons’ awards..
Managers Player Charlie B
Players Player Harry Q
Parents Player Max R
Most Improved Callum H
Best Attacking Player Max D
Best Defending Player Charlie B


Under 11 Eagles

Dave Wilson and Kevin Turnbull were on hand to continue the U11 honours, concentrating on the Eagles….
Managers Player Dylan A
Players Player Aston M
Parents Player Kai W
Most Improved Robert H
Best Attacking Player Olly P
Best Defending Player Luke C


Under 13 Warriors

To complete the 2nd of the day’s sessions, the awards were presented by Manager Dan Wheatley.
Players Player Mikey
Best Attacking Player Jack
Best Defending Player Tyler H


Under 18 Hurricanes

To kick off the last session of the day, who better to start the proceedings than the one and only Binny with the team coach Rob Horton….
Managers Player George Hutton
Players Player George Hutton
Parents Player George Hutton


Under 14 Trojans

The Trojans’ presentations got under way with Manager Andy Elton, who was joined at the front by Trojans Coach Paul Carter.. .
Managers Player Josh Cook
Players Player Tristan Fourie
Parents Player Finley Williams
Most Improved Finley Williams
Best Attacking Player Aaron Carter
Best Defending Player Jacob Ferry


Under 14 Lions

The Lions team then took the stage hosted by Sean Crooke and team Coach Phill Gaff..
Managers Player Will Gaff
Players Player Will Gaff
Parents Player Matt Dwyer
Most Improved Sam Valentine
Best Attacking Player Jack Crooke
Best Defending Player Liam Ansell


Under 15 Hawks

Manager Jim Biss and Coach Paul Carr were on hand to present their team with the well deserved awards…
Managers Player Matthew Webb
Players Player Mathew Webb
Parents Player David Zamorylo
Most Improved Louis Black


Under 16 (SYL)

The Under 16s Surrey Youth League team had their Manager Paul Sarney and Coach Andy Barry to present their awards..
Managers Player Josh Barry
Players Player Lewis Burgess
Parents Player Ben Hellett
Best Attacking Player Tom Griffin
Best Defending Player Jonny O’Shea


Under 16 (SPL)

The U16s Surrey Primary League team had their Managers Noff Diliberto and Nick Enderby present the players with their trophies…
Managers Player Kieran Hill
Players Player Kai Drake
Most Improved Aaron Mayward
Best Attacking Player Ismael Alvarez
Best Defending Player Matthew Diliberto


Under 17 Tigers

Manager Richard Angus took to the floor to present his team with their trophies…


Under 12s

Les West and Darren Whitfield where present to award their players with their awards…
Managers Players Ethan Wakeford

David Mallalieu

Players Player Ethan Wakeford

Marcus Levick

Parents Player David Mallalieu


Under 9 Panthers

Shaun Dyer, Dean Brockbank and Dave Barrett got the next block of awards started, recognising the achievements of the U9 Panthers this season.
Managers Player Zack H
Players Player Beau B
Parents Player Beau B
Most Improved Alex B
Best Attacking Player Henry G
Best Defending Player Jacob B


Under 9 Pumas

In a seamless transition, the Pumas staff – Mike Royle, Chris Atkins and Alex Osbaldeston – then took to the stage, continuing the U9 awards…
Managers Player James M
Players Player Zack R
Parents Player George H
Most Improved Omed R
Best Attacking Player John H
Best Defending Player Jamie A


The Committee Special Recognition Awards

Clare Jones Clare has been awarded a Committee Special Recognition Award for her commitment to the club for the past 3 years as Club Secretary, and in the 2016/2017 Season also taking on the roles of Treasurer, Interim Chairman and Membership Officer. Sadly Clare leaves the club this year, as she is exhausted.
Andi Scanlan Andi was presented with the Club Secretary Award, for his consistent support and commitment to the committee, and for his assistance to the Club Secretary this season

The WRFC 5 Year Service Awards

The following volunteers, Managers and coaches were all presented with an award celebrating their 5 years service at Worplesdon Rangers Football Club.

Tony Mainee

Dave Blake

Nick Reynolds

Gav Banks

Mike Cresswell

Dave Wilson



Leave a Reply